160055236624
AVG Signal Blog Privacy Social Media How to Delete Your X (Formerly Twitter) Account
Signal-How-to-Delete-or-Deactivate-Your-Twitter-Account-Hero

Written by Michael Paulyn
Published on March 15, 2024

How to delete your Twitter account on your phone

You can’t instantly delete Twitter (now known as X). To delete your Twitter account using your phone, you need to follow the deactivation process via the app’s settings menu to temporarily disable your account first. Then, if you don’t log back into Twitter within 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. To cancel the deletion and reactivate your account, simply sign in within the 30-day period.

This article contains :

    The process for deleting your Twitter account using the mobile app is the same on Android and iPhones. However, before you begin the process, you should create a backup of your data if you want access to your Tweets and messages in the future.

    Here’s how to delete Twitter (or X) on your phone:

    1. Tap your profile photo > Settings and support > Settings and privacy.

      The X Settings and Support menu, with the Settings and privacy option highlighted
    2. Select Your account > Deactivate your account.

      The X Your Account menu, with the 'Deactivate account' option highlighted.
    3. Confirm by tapping Deactivate.

      The X app deactivation page, with the Deactivate button highlighted.
    4. Enter your password, then tap Deactivate to begin the 30-day deactivation period.

      The conformation page for deactivation of X via the app.

    That’s it! No matter the reason for deleting your X account — whether you’re removing an old profile you find embarrassing or are concerned about the risks of phishing and identity theft from oversharing — it’s a simple process. And note that the steps for deleting Twitter are similar to those for deleting Instagram, deleting Facebook, and getting off Snapchat.

    How to deactivate Twitter using the app

    To deactivate Twitter on your Android or iPhone, find the Deactivate your account option in Settings and privacy. This deactivation process starts a 30-day period, after which your account is permanently deleted. Simply log in within this period to reactivate your Twitter account or restart another 30-day deactivation period.

    How to delete Twitter using your computer

    To permanently delete your Twitter account on a computer, go to Twitter’s login page, sign in, and choose Deactivate your account in your account menu.

    The process for deleting Twitter from a computer uses the platform’s web version, so it’s the same for Windows and Mac users. Before deactivating your account, make sure you create a backup of your data if you want to keep it.

    Here’s how to delete Twitter (or X) on a computer:

    1. Log in to your account and click More in the main menu.

      The Twitter main menu on a desktop browser, with the More button highlighted
    2. Click Settings and Support > Settings and privacy.

      The Twitter More menu from a web browser, with the 'Settings and Support' & 'Settings and privacy' options highlighted
    3. Click Your account > Deactivate your account.

       The Twitter Settings menu with the Your account button and the Deactivate your account buttons highlighted
    4. Click Deactivate.

      The Deactivate button is highlighted
    5. Enter your password, then click Deactivate. This will begin a 30-day deactivation period. After this, your account will be deleted permanently.

      Enter your Twitter password, then click Deactivate.

    How to deactivate Twitter on your PC or Mac

    To deactivate Twitter on your computer, go to Settings and Support > Settings and privacy > Your account > Deactivate your account. Follow the on-screen instructions and your account will be deactivated for 30 days.

    The Twitter deactivation and deletion processes are the same. The only difference is what you choose to do during the deactivation period. If you don’t reactivate your account within 30 days, your account and data will be permanently deleted.

    How to reactivate your Twitter account

    To reactivate your Twitter account, log in during the 30-day deactivation period. If you do not return to the platform within this period, your account will be automatically deleted.

    Here are the quick and easy steps to reactivate your Twitter (or X) account:

    1. Open the app or visit the X login page in your browser and sign in.

    2. Select Yes, reactivate on the “Reactivate your account?” pop-up.

      The X reactivation pop-up on a desktop browser, with the Yes, reactivate button highlighted.

    Keep your online activity private

    Deleting Twitter or simply reducing the amount of information you share over social media platforms are good steps toward greater online privacy. But you can further protect yourself and keep your activity hidden and your browsing life private with a reliable anti-tracking app. Download AVG AntiTrack to help block tracking, disguise your digital fingerprint, and keep advertisers off your back.

    FAQs

    How do I delete a suspended Twitter account?

    To delete a suspended Twitter account, you must complete a request form, because suspensions must be lifted by X before any changes can be made to an account.

    Can I delete a Twitter account without the email or password?

    If you need to access a Twitter account without a password or email address, you will need access to the verified mobile phone number attached to the account. You can then request a password reset and enter your phone number. A code will be sent to your phone, which you should enter on the password reset page.

    Is deactivating Twitter the same as deleting?

    Deactivating and deleting Twitter are not the same, even though doing so means following the same process. Deactivating Twitter is temporary and will disable your account for up to 30 days. Signing in during this period automatically reactivates the account. Deleting Twitter permanently deletes your account, including your messages, media, data, and comments. And your account handle will become available for other users.

    Can I back up my data before deleting Twitter?

    You can request a backup of your account data through the settings menu. Go to Settings and support > Settings and privacy > Your account > Download an archive of your data > Request archive.

    You’ll receive an email and a notification in the app when the archive is ready.

    Can I delete my Twitter account and make a new one with the same email?

    Yes. Once the deletion process has been completed, your email will no longer be associated with a Twitter account, and it can be used to create a new account.

    Prevent tracking and protect your data with AVG Secure Browser

    Free install

    Prevent tracking and protect your data with AVG Secure Browser

    Free install
    Social Media
    Privacy
    Michael Paulyn
    15-03-2024