160054551674
AVG Signal Blog Privacy Social Media How to Permanently Delete Your Snapchat Account
Signal-How-to-Permanently-Delete-Your-Snapchat-Account-Hero

Written by Crissy Joshua
Published on March 12, 2024

Before you start: Download your Snapchat data

Before you delete your Snapchat account, you might want to download your data, like any videos you’ve posted. You can request a copy of your data via the iOS app or the website if you’re an Android user (it’s not possible on the Android app).

This article contains:

    And if you want to get off other social media apps, check out our guides to deleting Instagram, quitting Facebook, and getting rid of Twitter (X).

    Via the website


    1. Open accounts.snapchat.com and log in.

      Log in and download any data you want before you delete your Snapchat account.
    2. Select My Data from the main menu.

      Click My Data on the main menu on the Snapchat website.
    3. Choose which data you want to download and the file format, then click Next.

      Choose the file format and data you want included.
    4. If you want to export data from a certain period, add the date range (optional). Then enter your email address and click Submit.

      You can choose to specify a date range for the data you want, then enter your email and click Submit.
    5. You’ll see an export progress message to confirm that Snapchat is compiling your files.

      A message confirming the Snapchat data export is in progress.
    6. When it’s ready, Snapchat will email you a download link to a .zip file containing your data.

    Via the iOS app


    1. On the main app page, select your profile icon.

      Tap your profile icon.
    2. Tap the Settings button.

      Tap the Settings button.
    3. Navigate to the Privacy Controls section and choose My Data.

      Privacy control settings in the Snapchat app, with the My Data button highlighted
    4. Use the tick boxes and toggles to choose the content you want to include and the file format. When you’ve decided, tap Next.

      Choose the file format and content to include, then tap Next.
    5. If you want to filter your export by date range, slide the toggle to the right and specify the time frame. Confirm your email, then tap Submit.

      Choose a date range for your data if you don't want to keep everything, enter your email address, then tap Submit.
    6. The app will then confirm that your request has been received and is being processed.

      Snapchat will confirm the data export is in progress.
    7. Snapchat will email you a download link to a .zip file containing your data.

    How to delete your Snapchat account

    If you have an iOS device, you can delete your Snapchat account from the app or the website. If you have an Android device, you’ll need to use the website, because it’s not possible in the Android app.

    How to delete your Snapchat account on the website

    The following steps explain how to permanently delete Snapchat on the website.

    1. Open accounts.snapchat.com and log in.

      Log in, then click Next.
    2. Click Delete my account.

      Click Delete my account.
    3. Enter your login details, then click Continue to confirm the deletion request.

      Enter your login details, then click Continue to confirm you want to delete your Snapchat account.

    Snapchat won’t instantly delete your account. Instead, you’ll enter a 30-day deactivation period. If you change your mind and want to reactivate your account, you can recover it simply by signing in. If you don’t log in within 30 days your account will be permanently deleted.

    How to delete your Snapchat account using the iOS app


    1. Select your Profile icon on the main screen.

      Screenshot of the top menu buttons on the main Snapchat screen, with the Bitmoji button highlighted.
    2. Tap the Settings button.

      Screenshot of the top row of buttons on the Bitmoji page of Snapchat with the Settings button highlighted.
    3. Locate Delete Account in the Account Actions section of the settings menu.

      Scroll down and choose Delete Account.
    4. Confirm your deletion request by filling in your login details, then tap Continue.

       Enter your login details, then tap continue to confirm you want to delete your Snapchat account.

    Now, your account will enter a 30-day deactivation period. If you don’t log in during this period, your Snapchat account will be permanently deleted.

    How to deactivate your Snapchat account

    There is no standalone deactivation option on Snapchat. To temporarily pause your account, follow the deletion process which will deactivate your account for 30 days. If you have an iOS device, you can do this from the app. If you’re an Android user, you can do this from the Snapchat website.

    How to reactivate your Snapchat account

    Once your account is deactivated, you have 30 days to reactivate it. After this time, your Snapchat account will be permanently deleted. To reactivate your account, simply log back into your account within 30 days.

    Strengthen your online privacy

    Deleting Snapchat and other social media platforms is a good first step to taking back control over your online life. Using dedicated privacy and anti-tracking tools lets you go further. AVG AntiTrack is a powerful privacy tool that keeps your online breadcrumbs private and disguises your digital fingerprint to help keep advertisers and other marketers off your trail.

    FAQs

    Why do people want to delete their Snapchat accounts?

    The reasons people leave Snapchat range from saving time to reducing their digital footprint. It’s impossible to know who’s tracking you online and if brokers are selling your data for targeted ads. That information could potentially become part of a data breach, allowing criminals to use your data for social engineering attacks or identity theft.

    Others wonder if social media affects mental health. Parents might be asking if Snapchat is safe for kids. After all, young people online can be vulnerable to cyberbullying and doxxing attacks, and they may not have a full understanding of internet safety.

    Can I delete Snapchat from the Android app?

    No. The Snapchat app for Android doesn’t include the option to delete accounts. Log into your account via the website to delete or deactivate your Snapchat account.

    Why won't Snapchat let me delete my account?

    Snapchat won’t instantly delete your account. Instead, you’ll enter a 30-day deactivation period. If you change your mind and want your account back, you can recover it simply by signing in. The account will be permanently deleted if you don’t log in during these 30 days.

    How long can you temporarily disable Snapchat?

    You can temporarily disable Snapchat for 30 days. If this deactivation period passes without you logging back into your account, it will be permanently deleted.

    Can I deactivate a Snapchat account without a password?

    No, you need your password to deactivate a Snapchat account. Your account password can be reset using the “Forgot your password?” button on the login page. You can choose to have a verification code sent via SMS or a password reset link sent via email. Once you log in again, you can follow the steps to deactivate your account.

    Prevent tracking and protect your data with AVG Secure Browser

    Free install

    Prevent tracking and protect your data with AVG Secure Browser

    Free install
    Social Media
    Privacy
    Crissy Joshua
    12-03-2024